Author Interview – Warlord’s Honor – L.W.Browning

It is my pleasure to bring to you  this author interview  by my friend and fellow author L.W.Browning of her wonderful new book Warlord’s Honor.

Short author bio: L. W. Browning writes paranormal romance. When she isn’t writing it, she’s reading it. Browning is a GRITS, Girls  Raised In The South. She enjoys her family, her friends, her dogs and cats (all rescues), traveling and meeting people. She does a little gardening because she loves flowers and always takes time to stop and smell them. Most of all, she enjoys being Southern and writing romance stories she hopes you will enjoy.

Contact information: browninglw@gmail.com

Purchase link:

Amazon ebook US: http://www.amazon.com/Warlords-Honor-Krystile-Warriors-Browning-ebook/dp/B00H30I99O/

Amazon ebook UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Warlords-Honor-Krystile-Warriors-Browning-ebook/dp/B00H30I99O/

Warlord’s Honor – B&N Nook

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/warlords-honor-l-w-browning/1117608113?ean=2940148856696

iTunes:    https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/id776184825

Website / Blog: L.W.Browning

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Lalo-Lafleur/193220454154875

Twitter:  www.twitter.com/LaloLafleur

Warlord

Book Synopsis: In a universe starved for power, the Conglomeration rules societies with an iron grip on all trade and by the power of the eMpaths with eXtra abilities they have enslaved.

Claire, a sheltered eMpath, finds herself involved in treacherous negotiations that leave her stranded on a barbarian world of violence and danger.

Koda, the ruthless barbarian Warlord, controls the vast resources of energy of his planet. Refusing to bow to the Conglomeration, Koda plunges Claire into a violent world of deception and greed where the rules of survival suddenly change.

When it is evident that the Warlord Koda has no intention of giving up his eMpath, Claire is forced to trust the barbarian with her life. As the future of her kind hangs in the balance, she must also decide if she can also trust him with her heart.

What is your writing process?

I have scenes in my head… and a primary theme or plot… and I just figure out how to get those scenes worked into the story. Scene one may be a fight and scene two a love scene… so why would there be fight? How would the characters go from a fight to a love scene? What makes them act the way they do? What prevents them from trusting each other… understanding each other? I just sort of make up reasons and to get from one scene to the next.

What’s your favorite part of the writing process?

I actually like the writing part… letting my mind just wander and go and listening to the characters… trying to feel what they feel. Of course, sometimes I have to stop and rip out scenes but I might always be able to use them later. I like evoking feelings in people. I want to take the reader on an adventure.

Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned everything… I always wanted to write. I waited a long time to do it. I had to learn a whole new skill set. It was hard. It was painful. Sometimes I cried. It was frustrating and disappointing and fun and exciting and painful. Did I say painful? My daughter told me a story about a lady in a writing class and every week they critiqued each other’s work. And every week… hers was the worst. The teacher began to save hers for last because it was so bad and needed so much work. So years later, her former teacher saw her at a book convention. She was now a famous author sitting at her little table with her books… He approached her and told her of all his students, she was the last one he had ever thought would be a successful author. She said she knew. But she had a dream. Her dream was to write. Then she realized she would have to change her dream and first learn how to write. I have a dream too. I am a storyteller… I always have been. I could not stop myself if I wanted to. I just have to acquire some skills and learn how to tell the stories I want to tell.

Did you hire an editor to review your manuscript before publishing?

Yes, I did. And he was great. Some of the rules have changed since I was in school. But I think having an editor is one of the most important things an author can do. Oh… let me rephrase that… having a good editor. It is important that you have a good editor!

Did you try the traditional route to publishing, i.e. querying agents/publishers?

No, never even considered that. Patience is not one of my virtues. I don’t have ten years to submit manuscripts and wait for someone to like my work. I just did not have the time. Besides that, I don’t think there is much benefit to going the traditional route anymore.

What kinds of marketing [twitter, facebook, blog, forums] are you involved with for promoting your book(s)?

All of the above and lots of word of mouth.  Getting word out to everybody I know.  It’s been fun.

Do you find it difficult to juggle your time between marketing your current book and writing your next book?

I’m about 7,000 words into the next book. I think to just section off a day and spend x time doing this and then x time doing that.

How are readers/reviewers reacting to your book?

Very, very well. I’m overjoyed at the remarks people are making about my book. I always just wanted some folks to enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy reading my favorite books.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

When I was a girl, I used to ask my grandparents to tell me stories about the “olden days”. They never had any good stories. I had one grandfather who told stories but he was the only one. One day when I was older, I was talking to a married in aunt and she was telling me all kinds of interesting things about her family. I said… why don’t we have any stories like that? And she said… “your family doesn’t have a storyteller… mine did.” I resolved there and then to be the storyteller. I love it. I think I was probably naturally inclined to do that anyway.

Have you published anything else?

Yes, a little book of true short stories… mostly funny ones… under L. Walker, Adventures of a Southern Girl. I have another funny short stories book almost done and I’m working on the next book in my warlord series.

 

Leave a Reply

