Excerpt Promotion – FAR WEST – The Diary of Eleanor Higgins by Linell Jeppsen

Today I have an Excerpt for you from the soon to be released book FAR WEST – The Diary of Eleanor Higgins by my friend Linell Jeppsen, so look out for this one.  I will post again with links when it is released.

Far West 02

Description1

FAR WEST- The Diary of Eleanor Higgins

Nel Higgins is the sixteen-year-old daughter of Frank Higgins, a deranged Lutheran pastor. After Nel’s mother passes away, she finds herself and her sister, Annie, at the mercy of her father in Yankton, Dakota Territory, 1876.

Bereft and frightened, Nel knows, deep in her heart, that neither she nor Annie will survive unless they can escape his evil clutches. Then, when unforeseen circumstances lead to Frank’s sudden death, the two girls soon board the famous riverboat, the Far West.

Once onboard, Nel finds herself following the path of American destiny toward Fort Abraham Lincoln, Custer’s Last Stand and the Battle of the Little Bighorn!

Readers and early reviewers are comparing this Historical Romance novel to FOREVER AMBER and THE UNSINKABLE MOLLY BROWN. It is filled with action, adventure, sorrow and joy and showcases the strength, fortitude and danger of the American frontier.

 

Excerpt2

 

To my beautiful wife, Nel.

I am in Montana now, due to the mind-bending speed with which Captain Marsh applied his boat and crew.

We are moored at the mouth of the Yellowstone River, awaiting Custer’s return and that of his two, separate wings of command- Captain Benteen’s regiment and Major Reno’s troops. When they return I will, most likely, accompany Custer to Sitting Bull’s encampment.

General Terry is due to arrive any day now and I hear he is quite put out with Custer’s behavior. It is rumored that the brevet general is treating this campaign as some sort of holiday and he is stoutly refusing Terry any authority over him or his beloved 7th.

I honestly don’t know how any proper Army can operate under these circumstances~

Meanwhile, as snowy puffs of Cottonwood seed fill the air, and the smell of primrose prickles our nostrils with the first blush of summer, I can’t help but think of my lovely, young bride and the paper roses she held under her nose one day as she sat for a portrait with my father.

I know, now, I fell in love with you that day, and I also know that I will continue to love you until the end of my days… and beyond.

I hope that you and Annie are well in my absence and that our child is still safe and sound in your belly.

I am here to do a job and to secure our future together as a photographer of some good repute, but rest assured that my heart yearns for you- your smile, your touch, your body.

Sincerely; from your loving husband,

Martin

 Links7

WEBSITE       TWITTER       FACEBOOK

AMAZON AUTHOR

4 responses to “Excerpt Promotion – FAR WEST – The Diary of Eleanor Higgins by Linell Jeppsen

Leave a Reply

