Halloween Promotion – Heart of Ice by Linell Jeppsen

Today’s scary story is Heart of Ice from my friend Linell Jeppsen, another story in the Deadman series with the adventures of Matthew Wilcox.

linell-heartoficeweb

 

Description1

In this, the sixth installation of the Deadman series, Matthew and Chance run into something deeply evil and terrifying. Supernatural monsters have found their way to the North Idaho woods!

Torn between disbelief and a fierce will to save his family from the beasts’ clutches, Chance mounts a rescue party, armed with special bullets, love and sheer determination.

For silver is the only thing that can stop a Wendigo and its cold, icy heart.


Case File #6

May 18th, 1909

Since I first opened the doors to The Wilcox and Son Detective Agency, I have made a habit of documenting each and every one of our case files. This has served two purposes. First, it is a good way to protect my son Chance and myself against reprisal from an unhappy client. Secondly, good testimony pertaining to the acts performed by this investigation agency stands up well in a court of law, especially signed affidavits when the injured party in a lawsuit – usually the crook involved – tries to claim wrongdoing on our part.

There is another reason. Although I have been a lawman most of my adult life and am even now a licensed attorney, there are good lessons to be learned in the pursuit of justice. As my dear, deceased wife Iris once told me, “People are not always black and white, Matthew. People come in all shades of gray. Some, so-called Good People do heinous things and some Bad Folk are heroes. To be a good marshal, I think you must look into the gray of things…”

On our first case, I put my own son’s life in mortal danger; by the grace of God, Chance survived that encounter. I now know a hundred different and safer things we could have done to bring a dirty boxer and his trainers down. Our second big case was won by luck alone and only with a lot of help from the people involved. Again, I now know that Chance and I ran blindly into a situation that could have gotten everyone I hold dear killed.

That case was resolved more or less satisfactorily but I have learned a few things since starting my detective agency: No. 1 – Get as many facts as humanly possible before rushing into danger; No. 2 – Take copious notes; and No. 3 – Be prepared for anything. This philosophy has served us well so far. But there are some things no man or woman can even dream of, much less anticipate.

What happened to my son on a frigid, moonlit night in October of 1908 is one of those things no human being can reckon or prepare for.

He survived the experience, thank God, but at great risk to both body and soul. My son is not the same happy, carefree young man he was before that night and, I dare say, he will be forever changed…both for the worse and the better. For sure, he is looking into the “gray of things” now.

So, that’s what I am doing…trying to document Case File #6. But I admit to being stumped. This is, by far, the strangest case my son and I have ever taken on, the most hazardous. And now that we have survived to tell the tale, it is a case that remains unsolved and one that will always be kept hidden from prying eyes.

I will share this report with Chance, his wife Hannah and my wife, Annie. After we have studied what happened, separated fact from fantasy, and tried to the best of our ability to report the truth as it unfolded, I will seal this case file away.

Forever.

Matthew Wilcox

Links7

AMAZON US       AMAZON UK

WEBSITE       TWITTER       FACEBOOK

AMAZON AUTHOR

3 responses to “Halloween Promotion – Heart of Ice by Linell Jeppsen

Leave a Reply

