Author Interview – Marie Lavender

Today I have an interview for you with author Marie Lavender about her book A Little Magick.

mariealternate

Short author bio: Bestselling multi-genre author of UPON YOUR RETURN and 20 other books. Nominated in the TRR Readers’ Choice Awards for Winter 2015. Poetry winner of the 2015 PnPAuthors Contest. Honorable Mention in the 2014 BTS Red Carpet Book Awards. Finalist and Runner-up in the 2014 MARSocial’s Author of the Year Competition. Honorable mention in the January 2014 Reader’s Choice Award. Liebster Blogger Award for 2013 and 2014. Top 50 Authors on AuthorsDB.com. Winner of the Great One Liners Contest on the Directory of Published Authors.

Marie Lavender lives in the Midwest with her family and three cats. She has been writing for over twenty years. She has more works in progress than she can count on two hands. Since 2010, Marie has published 21 books in the genres of historical romance, contemporary romance, romantic suspense, paranormal romance, fantasy, mystery/thriller, literary fiction and poetry. Her current series are The Heiresses in Love Series, The Magick Series and The Blood at First Sight Series.
A list of her books and pen names are as follows:

Marie Lavender: Upon Your Return; Magick & Moonlight; Upon Your Honor; Second Nature; “Lovers Like Us” (from the book anthology, Poets & Writers in Action); A Little Magick; Second Chance Heart (coming soon)

Erica Sutherhome: Hard to Get; Memories; A Hint of Scandal; Without You; Strange Heat; Terror in the Night; Haunted; Pursuit; Perfect Game; A Touch of Dawn; Ransom; Leather and Lace

Kathryn Layne: A Misplaced Life

Heather Crouse: Express Café and Other Ramblings; Ramblings, Musings and Other Things; Soulful Ramblings and Other Worldly Things

Marie Lavender A Little Magick - final cover

Book Synopsis: Little Rosie goes to stay with her uncle. There she meets some new friends…and some enemies. She doesn’t know that her emotions will trigger something unusual. So far from home, suddenly Rosie has become a full witch like her mother. For a time, it is great fun to use her powers the way she wants, but can Rosie figure out how to use these newfound powers for good or will she be lost to the dark side forever?

BOOK TRAILER U TUBE

 

Author

Hi Marie, tell us a little about your book.

A Little Magick is a children’s fantasy book about a little girl who suddenly discovered she has powers. The story is about how she copes with this change in her life. The book is actually a spin-off of Magick & Moonlight, a romantic fantasy also about a witch. A Little Magick is book two in the series, but because it can cater to children and adults alike, it can also stand on its own.

How did you come up with the title?

I just wanted to find something cute that would also express the magick in the story.

What was your inspiration to write this book?

The character Rosie just began to nag at me one day, begging for her story to be told. What a surprise, as I don’t often write from the child’s point of view, but how could I say no to the muse?

Did you try the traditional route to publishing, i.e. querying agents/publishers?

Not with A Little Magick, I didn’t. However, I have tried both options with my writing. Four books have been traditionally published through Solstice Publishing, and 17 were self-published.

What factors influenced your decision to self-publish to Amazon?

For this book, a lot of it was actually contingent upon my publisher’s guidelines. They no longer accept children’s books so I didn’t see any harm in releasing it independently while still trying to keep the book related to the series. The third book in the trilogy, Magick Sunrise, will be submitted to the publisher, however.

How are readers/reviewers reacting to your book?

Everyone seems to love it! It has received glowing remarks from reviewers as well as readers at the release party.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Not specifically, no. I think I was always fascinated with the written word. When I was a young child, my mother would read to me and I just loved hearing about these stories and the characters within. When I could read on my own, I poured over any book I could find. As I grew up, I developed certain reading interests, of course. But I still love the feel of a book in my hands. As a young girl, fictional worlds would play in my head, and I often acted them out with dolls and such. It didn’t occur to me until a few years later that I should try writing them down. I guess it just snowballed from there, and I’ve been writing stories ever since.
Have you published anything else?

Yes, of course. I have published 20 other books in various genres and under different pen names.

What’s next for you? / What is your next project?

I am currently editing a historical romance manuscript, which will be the final book in the Heiresses in Love trilogy. That is called Upon Your Love. I am also working on a sci-fi romance titled Blue Vision. And I have a new contemporary romance story coming out in October, which is titled Second Chance Heart.

Tell us your latest news.

I just received word that Second Nature, book one of the Blood at First Sight Series, was nominated in the TRR Readers’ Choice Awards. Reader voting is going on now so cast your vote for the next round! You can vote on the book page here (at the top, it says ‘sign in to nominate this book’ or you can go to the main voting page (Second Nature is three-fourths the way down the page in the ‘paranormal romance’ category).
Marie, congratulations on the nomination and thank you for sharing some of your work with my followers.

Links7

AMAZON UNIVERSAL LINK       SMASHWORDS       BARNES & NOBLE       KOBO

WEBSITE       BLOG       BLOG      BLOG        TWITTER       FACEBOOK

AMAZON AUTHOR

One response to “Author Interview – Marie Lavender

Leave a comment